Anodising, in, SPACE

Or rather, at the Hackerspace.

I’ve been interesting in anodising our own parts for about 5 years, idly, but lately i’ve started seriously looking into what it would take to make it happen. The answer is that its a bit tricky but not insurmountable.

The process, in simplest terms, seems to be:

1. Start with a part that is as polished as possible, all marks will show.
  2. Clean in detergent and distilled water
  3. Soak in caustic soda solution to clean the surface of impurities
  4. Clean in distilled water
  5. Soak in nitric acid solution to desmut (remove surface alloy impurities)
  6. Clean in distilled water (separate bucket each time)
  7. Hang in sulphuric acid bath by the anode wire. Any covered surfaces will not anodise so pref jam the wire into a bolt hole.
  8. Apply power. Try to keep the bath at 20ºc for Type II, or 4ºc for Type III
  9. Remove from bath, clean in distilled water
  10. Soak in warm (<50c) concentrated dye solution. (use distilled water)
  11. Boil the part in distilled water for 30min to seal.

So I think theres a 2 step process to building capabilities to do this stuff. one is to just manage to do crappy anodising with a basic setup, and then two is to gain control over the variables. The variables are:

1. cathode size (make the cathode mount so it can be raised/lowered in the bath)
  2. power in the system. ability to limit/regulate voltage and amperage
  3. temperature of the system. ie, a bucket of ice (dry?), a pump, teflon tubing and sensors that can withstand the acid bath. Also, a way to circulate the water that can withstand the acid bath.

So, heres a bit of a dump of my current research.

MVP Materials:

• High wattage power supply
  • 1 piece of lead flat bar for a cathode
  • 8 HDPE containers, preferably square, 5L seems a good size at a guess, maybe 10L. Borosilicate Glass would be better but that sounds even harder to source.